News

DBRS: The real estate market in Greece is resilient – The prospects are linked to the economy

The housing market in Greece showed resilience in 2020, despite the overall negative economic impact of the pandemic.

As DBRS comments in its analysis, after the cumulative increase of 9.2% in the period 2018-2019, the increase in house prices slowed down in 2020 due to travel restrictions and other measures for the coronavirus, but the price performance remained positive, at 4.6%.

Despite the re-imposition of restrictive measures in the first quarter of 2021, preliminary data from the Bank of Greece show that house prices continued to rise at a rate of 3.3% per year.

The Greek real estate market is highly dependent on foreign investment, resulting in larger price increases in Athens and other popular tourist destinations.

On the contrary, prices and transactions in other areas of Greece with more limited investment interest, although they probably benefited from the effects, are still low.

In the long run, DBRS estimates, the evolution of the real estate market as a whole will depend on Greece’s ability to create jobs and promote policies to support real income growth, while maintaining a stable macroeconomic environment to attract foreign investment.

As Spyridoula Tzouma, assistant vice president at Global Sovereign Ratings Group, comments, “the long-term prospects for the market as a whole will depend on Greece’s ability to recover from the coronavirus crisis, and to maintain a stable macroeconomic and political environment.”

“Foreign demand will probably continue to be the main lever of the real estate market, while the revitalization of the domestic market will be determined by Greece’s ability to achieve sustainable growth that will create jobs and increase incomes.”

Новости

DBRS: Рынок недвижимости Греции устойчив, перспективы связаны с экономикой

Рынок жилья в Греции продемонстрировал устойчивость в 2020 году, несмотря на общее негативное воздействие пандемии на экономику.

Как отмечает DBRS в своем анализе, после совокупного роста на 9,2% в период 2018-2019 годов рост цен на жилье замедлился в 2020 году из-за ограничений на поездки и других мер в связи с коронавирусом, но показатели цен остались положительными и составили 4,6 %.

Несмотря на повторное введение ограничительных мер в первом квартале 2021 года, предварительные данные Банка Греции показывают, что цены на жилье продолжали расти со скоростью 3,3% в год.

Греческий рынок недвижимости сильно зависит от иностранных инвестиций, что приводит к большему росту цен в Афинах и других популярных туристических направлениях.

Напротив, цены и сделки в других районах Греции с более ограниченным инвестиционным интересом, хотя они, вероятно, выиграли от последствий, все еще остаются низкими.

В долгосрочной перспективе, по оценкам DBRS, развитие рынка недвижимости в целом будет зависеть от способности Греции создавать рабочие места и проводить политику поддержки роста реальных доходов при сохранении стабильной макроэкономической среды для привлечения иностранных инвестиций.

Как отмечает Спиридула Цума, помощник вице-президента Global Sovereign Ratings Group, «долгосрочные перспективы для рынка в целом будут зависеть от способности Греции оправиться от кризиса коронавирусφ и поддерживать стабильную макроэкономическую и политическую среду».

«Зарубежный спрос, вероятно, по-прежнему будет основным рычагом на рынке недвижимости, в то время как оживление внутреннего рынка будет определяться способностью Греции достичь устойчивого роста, который создаст рабочие места и увеличит доходы».